New Hampshire Hardball

Franklin Pierce qualifies for NCAAs

RINDGE – After winning seven must-win games in a span of nine days, the Northeast-10 Conference champion Franklin Pierce University baseball team is headed back to the NCAA Championship for the second season in a row and the 15th time in program history. The Ravens have been selected as the eighth seed in the East Regional, as announced on Sunday night by the NCAA. Franklin Pierce will open play at its four-team, double-elimination sub-regional on Thursday, May 16, against top seed and host Adelphi.

New in 2019, the NCAA has revamped the format of the Division II Baseball Championship. Each region is now split into a pair of sub-regionals, with each site conducting either a three- or four-team double-elimination tournament this coming week, Thursday through Saturday. The following week, the advancing teams from each sub-regional within a region will meet, at the higher seed, for a best-of-three Super Regional, on May 24-25. The Super Regional winners will claim the regional trophies and advance to the NCAA Championship National Finals, which are set for June 1-8 at the USA Baseball National Training Complex in Cary, N.C.

In the East Region, the top two seeds will assume hosting duties in the coming week, as top seed Adelphi (34-7-1) and second seed Southern New Hampshire (36-12) will each welcome three other institutions. Both the Panthers and Penmen earned at-large seeds out of the Northeast-10 Conference.

At Adelphi, the top-seeded Panthers will be joined by fourth-seeded Wilmington (Del.) (38-16) and fifth-seeded NYIT (32-14), as well as eighth-seeded Franklin Pierce (28-22). Wilmington is the Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference champion, while NYIT earned an at-large bid out of the East Coast Conference. Thursday’s matchups will feature Adelphi against Franklin Pierce, as well as Wilmington against NYIT.

At SNHU, the second-seeded Penmen will play host to third-seeded LIU Post (36-14), sixth-seeded Felician (30-21) and seventh-seeded Assumption (26-18). LIU Post is the ECC champion, while Felician and Assumption secured the final two at-large bids, out of the CACC and the NE10, respectively. Thursday’s matchups at Penmen Field will feature SNHU against Assumption and LIU Post against Felician.

NCAA Baseball Championship East Regional

  1. Adelphi* (34-7-1)
  2. Southern New Hampshire* (36-12)
  3. LIU Post (36-14)
  4. Wilmington (Del.) (38-16)
  5. NYIT (32-14)
  6. Felician (30-21)
  7. Assumption (26-18)
  8. Franklin Pierce University (28-22)

* denotes host institutions

You must be logged in to post a comment Login